Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Don Visness sets new clean card record

     Don Visness apparently has found the secret to keeping a scorecard. For a record third time, Visness won the Cleanest Scorecard Contest at Tuesday's ASGA Individual Tournament held at Jimmy Clay Golf Course. He was keeping the scorecard for Bobby Johnson. Visness was tied with two wins each with Roy January and Ed Edmunds as the only members to have won multiple times and he used the last opportunity of the contest to set the new record.

Thursday, December 24, 2015

Ed Emunds wins contest for second time

     With one tournament to go in the Cleanest Scorecard Contest, Ed Edmunds received his Christmas gift a few days early by winning the cleanest card award at the December 22nd ASGA event held at Morris Williams Golf Course. Edmunds was keeping the scorecard of Don Pratt and Bob Remey. Edmunds is the third two-time winner of the

Friday, December 18, 2015

Don Visness wins 2nd Clean Card award

     Don Visness has done it again!  One of only two people to ever win the Clean Scorecard Contest twice, Visness settles in with Roy January as the only ones to do it! Visness was keeping the scorecard of Sam Jenkins and Bobby Johnson.

Monday, December 14, 2015

City of Austin Senior Membership Changes

ASGA President Frank Segura has received email from Kevin Gomillion, City of Austin Golf Division, on changes effective January 01, 2016.  Key items affecting ASGA members are:

2016 Tournament Schedule Released

See Important Note Below


Tournament Chairman Bob Remey has released the 2016 ASGA tournament schedule Click Here To View with a total of 57 playing dates, beginning and ending with individual net events on January 05 at Morris Williams and on December 27 at  Riverside Golf Course.  Riverside returns to the ASGA rotation after a lengthy absence with an event in April, and is joined as a "new" venue  by Forest Creek in Round Rock where a March event is scheduled.

The schedule again features a 2-day Spring Tournament in March and the annual barbecue in October, with shotgun starts for both events.   Included are 17 individual net events, 15 two-member team events,  16 four-member  team events and the two-day annual tournament dates.  Sixteen individual net and 8 two-person team events count for handicap purposes and to meet the five required scores for annual tournament eligibility.

A newly added  format is an individual net event  at Jimmy Clay on November 22 in which members are limited to a total of four clubs of their choice available in their bag.  The two-person team alternate tee shot/alternate shot returns for multiple events in the schedule.  This format is also known as "Ryder Cup foursomes" in which Player 1 hits the tee shot on odd numbered holes and Player 2 hits the tee shot on even numbered holes.  The second player hits the first shot after the tee shot and alternate shot is continued until the ball is holed.

NOTE!! To be eligible to enter the first tournament of 2016 (and to avoid the $5.00 surcharge for late renewal)  members must renew their membership by Sunday December 27, 2015.   This allows the eligible handicap list to be sent to the course on Monday, December 28 for the Wednesday, December 29 signup for the January 5 event.  Entries will not be accepted for those not on the list.  To expedite the process contact Rufus Stanton, ASGA Secretary/Treasurer via the address found in the Board of Directors link on the ASGA Status home page.

Contact Tournament Chairman Bob Remey with questions or comments on the schedule.  As always, circumstances could come up that result in future changes to the schedule.

Thursday, December 10, 2015

Bill Zuraitis wins Cleanest Scorecard at Clay event

     Bill Zuraitis sometimes has to tell other golfers how to pronounce his last name but in how to keep a proper scorecard all he has to do is show them. And Zuraitis did just that on Tuesday for the officials at the ASGA Select-Shot tournament at Jimmy Clay and his scorecard turned out to be the winner of the association's newest contest.  Zuratis was

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Tommy Warner wins ABCD team tournament cleanest scorecard contest

     Tommy Warner was a double winner in the ABCD team tournament held recently at the Morris Williams Golf Course. Warner and his team of Jim McKinney, Robert Amaro, and Don Davis not only finished first in the "D" bracket of the ABCD tournament but Warner won the Cleanest Scorecard Contest as well.